.:Home        .:About IHC         .:Prize List        .:Circular        .: Contact Us
ALERT!: HISTORY CONGRESS SESSION BEING HELD AS SCHEDULED PRIZE LIST Professor Vijay Kumar Thakur Memorial Prize: Ms Kanad Sinha (JNU) Professor J.S. Grewal Prize: Mr Bilal Sheikh (Aligarh) Professor Partha Sarathi Gupta Memorial Prize & Professor J.C. Jha Memorial Prize: Ms Tauseef Fatima (Aligarh) & Mr Zapate Nagorao Datta (JNU) Professor Sudhir Ranjan Das Memorial Prize: Mr Kishori L Chandel (Shimla) Professor Papiya Ghosh Memorial Prize: Mr Bikram Keshori Jena (Ravenshaw) Professor B.B. Chaudhury Prize: Mr Yashvender Dhaka (JNU) Dr. Gynaeshwari Devi Memorial Prize: Mr Deepak Solanki (JNU) Dr. I.G. Khan Memorial Prize: Mr K. Balaram (Tiruchirappalli) Dr Nasreen Ahmad Memorial Prize: Ms Shriya Bandyopadhyay (JNU)
Local Circular
Second Circular
Membership Form
List of Books
About IHC
Prize List
Contact Us


"The Indian History Congress will hold its 78th Session at Jadavpur University, Kolkata, (West Bengal)"

78th Session of Indian History Congress

Jadavpur University, Kolkata, (West Bengal) Date
28-30 December 2017

The Indian History Congress is the major national organisation of Indian historians, and has occupied this position since its founding session under the name of Modern History Congress, held at Poona in 1935. In his address the organisation's first President, Professor Shafaat Ahmad Khan called upon Indian historians to study all aspects of history, rather than only political history and to emphasize the integrative factors in the past. Its name was then changed to Indian History Congress's from its second session held in 1938, and three section, 1. Ancient, 2. Medieval and 3. Modern were created for simultaneous discussions. Ever since 1938 the organisation has been able regularly to hold its sessions each year, except for certain years of exceptional national crises. It is now going to hold its 77th annual session at Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, on 28-30 December 2016. It has at present over 7,000 ordinary and life member.

The Indian History Congress has national registration and its aims and objects as recorded in its Memorandum of Association are as follows:-

Promotion and encouragement of the scientific study of Indian History.

:Holding Congresses and publishing of the Proceedings, Bulletins, Memoirs, Journals and other works.

:Co-operation with other organisations in India and aborad holding similar objects.

:Encouragement to the formation of State organisations to be affiliated to the central body.

:The management and disposal of funds, property and endowments for the purposes stated above.

:Performance of all other acts conducive to the fulfilment of the aims and objects of the Association.

In pursuit of these objectives the Indian History has broadened the scope of history on which it invites papers at the annual sessions by creating three other sections besides those on Ancient Medieval and Modern India, viz. Contemporary India, Countries other than India and Archaeology, with the annual session are held Professor S. C. Misra Memorial Lecture by an eminent historian and a Symposium on a important historical theme with three scholars taking past.

Over six hundred papers are usually submitted at the six sections, and a selection of them, after careful refereeing, are published in a Indian History Congress annual Proceedings, which regularly comes out every year and is made available to members free of charge. It usually contains over 100 research papers together with the addresses of the General President and Sectional Presidents.

The Indian History Congress also has as active publication programme. A list of its publications is given further on below.

At each annual session the General Body meets and passes resolutions on matters of interest to historians as teachers and researchers, to ensure due protection to our monuments and to create easier access to archives and sources, and, in general, to defend the scientific method and secular approach to history. all these resolutions are issued to press and published in the annual journal Proceedings.

Indian History Congress
Sectional President

Ancient India
Prof. Om Prakash Shrivastava (Allahabad)

Medieval India
Prof. K. S. S. Seshan (Hyderabad)

Modern India
Prof. Ravindran Gopinath (Kannur)

Countries Other than India
Prof. Manoranjan Mohanty (Delhi)

Prof. Sushma G. Deo (Pune)

Contemporary India
Prof. C. P. Chandrasekhar (Delhi)
Copyright©2016 Indian History Congress All Rights Reserved